The Museum was built by Charmian London and Eliza Shepard, Jack London's step sister, after London's death in 1916. The House of Happy Walls was designed to be a museum as well as Charmian's home. She lived in the house from 1934 until 1955 (when she was not traveling abroad or staying with relatives). Today the House of Happy Walls includes displays in many rooms, with a complete set of first-edition books by Jack London, Charmian's 1901 Steinway piano, and many unique crafts and mementos Jack and Charmian collected in their travels around the world. Open Daily 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.